Attenborough Arts Centre Awards 23 Music Scholarships

We are pleased to announce that Attenborough Arts Centre has granted 23 Music Scholarships for the 2023/24 academic year.

These scholarships have been made possible through the generous support of the University of Leicester Greatest Need Fund and a donation from John Flynn (BSc Physics with Astrophysics 1982). The selection process was rigorous, with auditions chaired by Paul Jenkins, Honorary Director of Student Music, and a panel comprising Carol Leeming MBE, a professional musician and cultural leader based in Leicester, Jack McDonald, Activities Officer for the Students’ Union, and Andrew Fletcher, Director of Attenborough Arts Centre.

These Music Scholarships are available to all undergraduate and postgraduate students regardless of their academic field. The funding provided covers music lessons and opportunities for further development of their music-making through music societies and regular performances at Attenborough Arts Centre’s Soundbites Tuesday lunchtime concert series. Past Music Scholars have gone on to pursue further musical studies, including Liam Karai, who is now a professional opera singer with the International Opera Studio at Staatsoper Hamburg.

Music Scholarships offer a range of educational, social, health, and wellbeing benefits, as the music Scholars become active performers across the University and city, contributing significantly to our community. This year Music Scholars for 2023/34 academic year are:

  • Majumdar Avinaba (Voice)
  • Purba Audhora (Voice)
  • Natasha Carr (Voice)
  • Zoe Newman (Voice)
  • David Warren (Voice)
  • Shriya Sharma (Voice)
  • Grace Moto (Voice)
  • Shalini Sachithananthan (Violin)
  • Evelyn Willman (Violin)
  • Kimberlyn Adade (Violin)
  • Khara Ryan (Viola)
  • Grace Stephens-Spada (Violin)
  • Si Yu Li (Viola)
  • Kaushik Ganeshan (Viola)
  • Anya King (Clarinet),
  • Chidera (Dee Dee) Efobi (Clarinet and Guitar)
  • Taylor Heanaghan (Bassoon)
  • Moritz Wagner (Piano)
  • Yichen Liu (Piano)
  • Ansh Verma (Cello)
  • Giorgie Isamu (Bass)

Other Students Receiving Tuition from Dr Jenkins

  • Yihang Zhu (Violin)
  • Ekene Obianom (Trumpet)

We are proud to support these talented students and look forward to seeing their continued success.

To learn more about the Music Scholarships, visit our webpage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *